Produits biologiques ultérieurs


Subsequent entry biologics in Quebec

The changes occurring in the use and development of biologics are raising numerous concerns because of the sheer importance of their potential impact, not only for patients and natural caregivers, but also for health care professionals, the pharmaceutical milieu and the public sector.

Alliance des patients pour la santé

accueil

The Patient Alliance for Health is launching Project PBU-Québec—an opportunity to gather people affected by these important changes regarding biologics so as to devise approaches, as a group, that will allow these transformations to be undertaken carefully, and in the interest of patients.

Litteratie

Health-centred literacy

Raise awareness in health professionals about the difficulties some patients may encounter when attempting to understand health issues.

Opinion

Patients’ opinions

Support members of the Alliance in their actions to defend patients’ interests and rights.

Acces-medicaments

Access to medication

Facilitate access to the best treatments and to innovative therapies for patients suffering from chronic illnesses.


pbu-definitions

Biologics come from living organisms. Their structure is more complex, and their composition more likely to vary at the moment of production than chemically synthesized drugs (for instance: insulin, growth hormones, etc.).

Subsequent entry biologics (SEBs) are similar to innovative biologics and appear on the market after them, once patents have expired.

Produits biologiques ultérieurs


Les produits biologiques ultérieurs au Québec

Les changements amorcés dans l’utilisation et le développement des produits biologiques soulèvent de nombreuses préoccupations puisque leurs impacts potentiels sont majeurs, tant pour les patients et les proches aidants, que pour les professionnels de la santé, les milieux pharmaceutiques et le secteur public.

Alliance des patients pour la santé

accueil

L’Alliance des patients pour la santé réalise le Projet PBU-Québec – une opportunité de rassembler les acteurs concernés par ces changements importants dans le domaine des produits biologiques afin de réfléchir ensemble sur les façons de faire qui permettront à ces transformations de s’effectuer avec soin, dans l’intérêt des patients.

Litteratie

La littératie en santé

Conscientiser les professionnels de la santé aux difficultés de compréhension que rencontrent les patients.

Opinion

L’opinion des patients

Appuyer les membres de l’Alliance dans leurs actions pour défendre les intérêts et les droits des patients.

Acces-medicaments

L’accès aux médicaments

Favoriser l’accès aux meilleurs soins et aux thérapies innovantes pour les patients atteints de maladies chroniques.


pbu-definitions

Les produits biologiques  sont  issus d’organismes vivants. Leur structure est plus complexe et leur contenu est plus susceptible de varier au moment de la fabrication que les drogues synthétisées chimiquement (par ex. : insuline, hormones de croissance, etc.).

Les produits biologiques ultérieurs (PBU) sont semblables aux produits biologiques innovateurs et arrivent sur le marché après ceux-ci, à l’échéance des brevets.